Skip to product information
1 of 3

Air Texture

Rrose + Silent Servant – Air Texture VII

Rrose + Silent Servant – Air Texture VII

Regular price £23.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £23.00 GBP
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Label: Air Texture – AIR 007 LP
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Stereo
Country: USA
Released: 15 Feb 2020
Genre: Electronic
Style: Experimental, Ambient

Air Texture return with their seventh compilation in the esteemed series, this time inviting Rrose and Silent Servant to curate the double LP, bolstered with artwork by German minimalist sculptor Charlotte Posenenske. 

Featuring unreleased tracks from artists including Anthony Child (Surgeon), Ron Morelli, Laurel Halo, Octo Octa, Phase Fatale, Luke Slater, Function, as well as Rrose and Silent Servant and legends ​Laetitia Sonami and Charlemagne Palestine.

The work of Seth Horvitz focuses on the limits of perception and the idiosyncrasies of machines, and the Rrose project focuses these ideas into an immersive and noisy, yet highly detailed form of techno meant to move the mind and body in equal measures. On stage, Rrose often stands in the shadows, going by he and she interchangeably (Rrose’s name and image allude to Duchamp’s female alter-ego) – an implied interrogation of gender norms and artistry in techno circles.

Currently residing in Los Angeles, Silent Servant, Juan Mendez, was instrumental in the reboot of the legendary Sandwell District label and the Jealous God label with Regis and James Ruskin. Silent Servant’s productions reference warehouse techno, industrial noise and post-punk reworked to form a uniquely modern style - a vitality so controlled and concentrated that it captivates immediately.

Both individuals are old friends and collaborators going back to the 1990s. Juan’s early label Cytrax released one of Seth’s first records under his Sutekh moniker. In 1998, they went on their first tour of Germany together with other artists from California.

When asking the artists on their process of selection, Rrose states: “​I selected a group of artists that would reflect both the dancefloor and experimental/avant-garde side of my influences. I wanted to see if I could make a compilation that sounded as cohesive as an album, but with contributions from a diverse range of artists. I asked the artists to focus on “sound, space, and drones” over easily identifiable “beats" and “songs” - with the intention of pushing the techno/dancefloor artists out of their comfort zones.”

Silent Servant conveys “​The choices on this compilation were based on people that I respect on all levels. ​It's a very mixed bag and I have a personal connection to each one of these people, and they are all people I knew would have something interesting to say. I feel grateful for the opportunity to have brought all of these people's art together for this project.”

A1. Rrose x James Fei – For Bass Clarinet 8.97 (Rrose Version)
A2. Ron Morelli – Psychic Harms Of Economic Deprivation
A3. Laurel Halo – Dies Ist Ein
B1. Anthony Child – Forced Compliance Behavior, Decision-Making And Effort
B2. Not Waving – Human Disfunction
B3. Charlemagne Palestine – drruuhhnnn innn duhh mooooohhnnn
C1. Luke Slater – When It Twists
C2. Phase Fatale – Nightmare In LA
C3. June And An-i – Afterlife
D1. Silent Servant – New World1
D2. Octo Octa – Hallway Visions
D3. Function – Zahlensender (ssb)

Shipping & Returns

14-Day Returns
UK, EU & Worldwide Shipping
Free UK Delivery Over £75

View full details